Search is on for the UK’s Best Modern Churches

24 churches have been shortlisted for the Best Modern Churches architecture competition being run by the National Churches Trust, The Ecclesiastical Architects and Surveyors Association and the 20th Century Society.

A special website give details of all the shortlisted churches  and the churches and chapels are listed at the bottom of this page.

St Francis Xavier, Falkir

St Francis Xavier, Falkir

From the shortlist of 24, judges will announce a Top 10 Best Modern Churches and award a ‘National Churches Trust Diamond Jubilee Architecture’ prize to the three places of worship judged to be the best sacred spaces built in the last 60 years at a ceremony to be held at Lambeth Palace on 7  November 2013.  The awards will be presented by the Archbishop of Canterbury, Justin Welby.

Over 200 churches were nominated for the competition by members of the public, churches and heritage organisations, Church buildings or significant extensions to an existing building of any Christian denomination in the United Kingdom which opened for worship after 1st January 1953 are eligible for the competition.

Claire Walker, Chief Executive of the National Churches Trust said: “As a nation we are rightly proud of our magnificent heritage of historic churches. But there are also many exciting churches which have been built in the last 60 years designed for the changing nature of religious liturgy and practice which reflect modern architecture and design. The challenge of helping people catch a glimpse of heaven has always produced highly creative and imaginative architecture. This competition will  help discover some of  the best examples of modern church architecture and allow us to honour those responsible.”

The Best Modern Churches competition is being held to mark the 60th anniversary of the National Churches Trust. Since 1953 the Trust has provided over 12,000 grants and loans worth £85 million to help fund the repair and modernisation of Christian places of worship.

Judges for the awards are:  Sherry Bates, President Ecclesiastical Architects and Surveyors Association, Richard Carr-Archer, Trustee of the National Churches Trust, Catherine Croft, Director of the 20th Century Society, Jonathan Glancey, writer and architecture critic.

Churches and chapels nominated can be found below. together with the name of the architect year of construction.

  • Our Lady and St Columba RC Church, Wallsend    Vincente Stienlet    1957
  • English Martyrs RC Church, Wallasey    F X Velarde    1953
  • St Mary’s RC Church, Leyland    Jerzy Faczynski (Weightman and Bullen)    1964
  • Scargill Chapel, Skipton    George Pace    1960
  • St Mark’s Church, Broomhill, Sheffield    George Pace    1963
  • St John the Baptist Church, Lincoln    Sam Scorer    1963
  • St Joseph’s RC Church, Leicester    T E Wilson    1968
  • St Paul’s Church, Harlow    Derrick Humphreys    1959
  • St Paul’s Church, Bow Common    Maguire & Murray    1960
  • Lumen United Reformed Church, Tavistock Place, London WC1     Thies & Kahn    2008
  • St Paul the Apostle, Harringay    Inskip & Jenkins    1991
  • All Saints Church, Croydon    Curtis Green    1956
  • SS Mary & Joseph RC Church, Poplar    Adrian Gilbert Scott    1954
  • London     Church of the Ascension, Wembley Park     J Harold Gibbons     1957
  • Abbey Church, Douai Abbey, Woolhampton    Michael Blee     1993
  • West of England    Church of the Ascension, Crownhill, Plymouth    Potter & Hare    1958
  • Bishop Edward King Chapel, Ripon College Cuddesdon    Niall McLaughlin Architects    2013
  • RC Chapel of St Albert the Great, Edinburgh University    Stuart Allan, Simpson & Brown    2012
  • Brucefield Church of Scotland, Whitburn, East Lothian    Row and Anderson Kininmonth and Paul    1965 – 1966
  • St Francis Xavier RC Church, Falkirk    A R Conlin    1961
  • St Bride’s RC Church, East Kilbride    Isi Metzstein and Andy MacMillan (Gillespie, Kidd & Coia)    1964
  • Kildrum Parish Church, Cumbernauld       Reiach & Hall     1965
  • Our Lady of Lourdes RC Church, Steelstown     Liam McCormick     1975
  • St Molua’s Church, Upper Newtownards Road, Belfast Denis O’D Hanna 1963
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: